Advocacy Efforts

Physicians for Patient Protection believes if state legislators are going to continue to pass laws that allow NPs the right to practice medicine without physician supervision, then patients should have a right to know the qualifications and training of the provider they are trusting to care for them. We urge you to please support the Truth in Healthcare Marketing Act of 2017 (HB3928).

 

More than 8,000 graduated physicians did not match into a residency last year, due to the stagnation of residency spots in the U.S. These new physicians have more knowledge and clinical hours than a DNP, but still require a residency to be able to practice medicine and treat patients safely. Please help Physicians for Patient Protection (PPP) in our goal to increase General Medical Education (GME) funding and develop more residency training programs, to solve the physician shortage with qualified and safe care for all patients. Please support the Resident Physician Shortage Reduction Act of 2017 (S.1301/H.R. 2267).

 

We ask our readers to please support H.R. 3928

 

As we all know, consumers are often unaware of the differences in the qualifications, training, and education of their health care professionals.

 

Evidence exists of patient confusion resulting from ambiguous health care nomenclature and related advertisements and marketing products; and nationwide surveys conducted in 2008, 2010 and most recently 2018, revealed the depth of confusion regarding the education, skills, and training of health care professionals and indicated strong support for increasing clarity in the advertising and marketing claims of health care professionals.

 

  • Ninety-one percent of respondents said that a physician’s years of medical education and training are vital to optimal patient care, especially in the event of a complication or medical emergency.
  • Eighty-six percent of respondents said that patients with one or more chronic diseases bene t when a physician leads the primary health care team.
  • Eighty-four percent of respondents said that they prefer a physician to have primary responsibility for the diagnosis and management of their health care.

 

What Can We Do?  Support H.R. 3928

 

In summary, this bill states that it shall be unlawful for any person to make any deceptive or misleading statement, or engage in any deceptive or misleading act, that

(1) misrepresents whether such person holds a State health care license; or

(2) misrepresents such person’s education, training, degree, license, or clinical

expertise.

 

Any person who is advertising health care services provided by such person, shall disclose in such advertisement the applicable license under which such person is authorized to provide such services

 

H.R. 3928

To ensure that patients receive accurate health care information by prohibiting misleading and deceptive advertising or representation in the provision of health care services, to require the identification of the license of health care professionals, and for other purposes.

 

The AMA recently put forth their findings about Truth in Advertising. Patients do not know who is a physician!

 

Full Text of the bill found here.

 

Please write to these legislators as part of the House Subcommittee on Digital Commerce and Consumer Protection to express support and request additional sponsors on this bill.

 

Here is an easy copy and paste format for your email.

 

Rep.Latta@opencongress.org, Rep.Harper@opencongress.org, Rep.Upton@opencongress.org, Rep.Burgess@opencongress.org, Rep.Lance@opencongress.org, Rep.Guthrie@opencongress.org, Rep.McKinley@opencongress.org, Rep.Kinzinger@opencongress.org, Rep.Bilirakis@opencongress.org, Rep.Bucshon@opencongress.org, Rep.Mullin@opencongress.org, Rep.Walters@opencongress.org, Rep.Costello@opencongress.org, Rep.Schakowsky@opencongress.org, Rep.Lujan@opencongress.org, Rep.Clarke@opencongress.org, Rep.Cardenas@opencongress.org, Rep.Welch@opencongress.org, Rep.DebbieDingell@opencongress.org, Rep.Matsui@opencongress.org, Rep.Kennedy@opencongress.org, Rep.Green@opencongress.org, Rep.Walden@opencongress.org, Rep.Pallone@opencongress.org

 

Here are individual email addresses and phone numbers.  Don’t be afraid to tweet them as well #PPPStrong

 

United States House Energy Subcommittee on Digital Commerce and Consumer Protection 115th Congress

 

Rep. Robert E. Latta – Ohio

Phone: 202–225–6405

Email: Rep.Latta@opencongress.org

Twitter: @BobLatta

 

Rep. Gregg Harper – Mississippi

Phone: 202–225–5031

Email: Rep.Harper@opencongress.org

Twitter: @GreggHarper

 

Rep. Fred Upton – Michigan

Phone: 202–225–3761

Email: Rep.Upton@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepFredUpton

 

Rep. Michael Burgess- Texas

Phone: 202–225–7772

Email: Rep.Burgess@opencongress.org

Twitter: @michaelcburgess

 

Rep. Leonard Lance – New Jersey

Phone: 202–225–5361

Email: Rep.Lance@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepLanceNJ7

 

Rep. Brett Guthrie

Phone: 202–225–3501

Email: Rep.Guthrie@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepGuthrie

 

Rep. David McKinley – West Virginia

Phone: 202–225–4172

Email: Rep.McKinley@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepMcKinley

 

Rep. Adam Kinzinger – Illinois

Phone: 202–225–3635

Email: Rep.Kinzinger@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepKinzinger

 

Rep. Gus M. Bilirakis – Florida

Phone: 202–225–5755

Email: Rep.Bilirakis@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepGusBilirakis

 

Rep. Larry Bucshon – Indiana

Phone: 202–225–4636

Email: Rep.Bucshon@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepLarryBucshon

 

Rep. Markwayne Mullin – Oklahoma

Phone: 202–225–2701

Email: Rep.Mullin@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepMullin

 

Rep. Mimi Walters – California

Phone: 202–225–5611

Email: Rep.Walters@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepMimiWalters

 

Rep. Ryan Costello – Pennsylvania

Phone: 202–225–4315

Email: Rep.Costello@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepRyanCostello

 

Rep. Jan Schakowsky – Illinois

Phone: 202–225–2111

Email: Rep.Schakowsky@opencongress.org

Twitter: @JanSchakowsky

 

Rep. Ben R. Lujan – New Mexico

Phone: 202–225–6190

Email: Rep.Lujan@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepBenRayLujan

 

Rep. Yvette D. Clarke

Phone: 202–225–6231

Email: Rep.Clarke@opencongress.org

Twitter: @YvetteClarke

 

Rep. Tony Cárdenas – California

Phone: 202–225–6131

Email: Rep.Cardenas@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepCardenas

 

Rep. Debbie Dingell – Michigan

Phone: 202–225–3611

Email: Rep.DebbieDingell@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepDebDingell

 

Rep. Doris O. Matsui -California

Phone: 202–225–7163

Email: Rep.Matsui@opencongress.org

Twitter: @DorisMatsui

 

Rep. Peter Welch – Vermont

Phone: 202–225–4115

Email: Rep.Welch@opencongress.org

Twitter: @PeterWelch

 

Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy III

Phone: 202–225–5931

Email: Rep.Kennedy@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepJoeKennedy

 

Rep. Gene Green- Texas

Phone: 202–225–1688

Email: Rep.Green@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepGeneGreen

 

Rep. Greg Walden – Oregon

Phone: 202–225–6730

Email: Rep.Walden@opencongress.org

Twitter: @RepGregWalden

 

Rep. Frank Pallone – New Jersey

Phone: 202–225–4671

Email: Rep.Pallone@opencongress.org

Twitter: @FrankPallone

 

 

INCREASE GME FUNDING:

Increase Residency Training Positions: Here is an easy template to send to your legislators in the US Congress to increase GME funding. We can’t increase physician access and patient safety without supporting graduate medical education.

Preserve funding for GME

 

Content information:

Graduate Medical Education

Protect federal funding for tomorrow’s doctors